City Council

The Peabody City Council is an eleven member board elected every two years by the voters. The Council is comprised of six Ward Councilors and five Councilors-at-Large. Each Ward Councilor answers to the needs and problems of the constituents within his or her designated ward area. Councilors-at-Large are responsible for representing the needs of all citizens and businesses in the City.

Each year at the City's Inaugural or midterm Inaugural, the City Council elects a Council President who presides over every meeting. It is the Council President's responsibility to ensure that each meeting is conducted in an orderly fashion, that the Rules and Regulations established by the City Council are followed, and that each agenda is carried through. The Council President and the Mayor work together to ensure that the Legislative and Executive branches of government collaborate to make Peabody a better City in which to live.